Something went wrong.

It is not possible to load the page you were looking for on

The website is currently in maintenance mode. Please try again later.

Do you use an adblocker? Try turning it off and reload the page.

Provisional squads named for Euro 2020 and U21 Euro 2021

KNVB Media
KNVB Media
14 May, 20:00

The preliminary Netherlands squad has been named - Foto: KNVB Media

The names have been announced of the players who will join the Netherlands senior and junior squads at this summer’s European Championship finals.

34-man national squad

As part of preparations for UEFA EURO 2020, Netherlands head coach Frank de Boer has picked 34 candidate for his squad.

On Wednesday, 26 May, De Boer will announce which players will be added to his final squad to compete in the European Championship. The names of these players (26 maximum, including at least three goalkeepers) must be submitted to UEFA by Tuesday, 1 June.

In the run-up to the finals, the players will be joining the squad in stages. During the first three-day training session (part 1 of the training camp, from Monday 24 May to Wednesday 26 May), the technical staff will work with a limited number of players who no longer have any club commitments. Part of this group will train together with the Junior team who are preparing at KNVB headquarters in Zeist for the final round of the European Championships.

On Friday, 28 May, staff and players will gather in Zeist to leave for Lagos, Portugal the next day for part 2 of the training camp.

The 34-strong prelimary Netherlands squad:

Patrick van AanholtCrystal Palace
Nathan AkéManchester City
Donny van de BeekManchester United
Steven BerghuisFeyenoord Rotterdam
Steven BergwijnTottenham Hotspur
Marco BizotAZ Alkmaar
Daley BlindAjax Amsterdam
Jasper CillessenValencia
Memphis DepayOlympique Lyon
Denzel DumfriesPSV Eindhoven
Anwar El GhAZ AlkmaariAston Villa
Cody GakpoPSV Eindhoven
Ryan GravenberchAjax Amsterdam
Hans HateboerAtalanta Bergamo
Frenkie de JongBarcelona
Luuk de JongSevilla
Rick KarsdorpAS Roma
Davy KlaassenAjax Amsterdam
Teun KoopmeinersAZ Alkmaar
Tim KrulNorwich City
Matthijs de LigtJuventus
Donyell MalenPSV Eindhoven
Quincy PromesSpartak Moscow
Marten de RoonAtalanta Bergamo
Maarten StekelenburgAjax Amsterdam
Jeremiah St. JusteFSV Mainz 05
Kenny TeteFulham
Jurriën TimberAjax Amsterdam
Joël VeltmanBrighton & Hove Albion
Tonny VilhenaKrasnodar
Stefan de VrijInter Milan
Wout WeghorstVfL Wolfsburg
Georginio WijnaldumLiverpool
Owen WijndalAZ Alkmaar


Tyrell Malacia, Brian Brobbey and Dani de Wit are part of the 31-men provisional junior squad. (Photo: KNVB Media)


Preliminary junior Netherlands squad (for the knock-out stage of UEFA Under-21 Euro 2021)

The preliminary junior Netherlands squad for the final stage of the 2021 UEFA European Under-21 Championship numbers 31 players. This knock-out stage of the tournament, co-hosted by Hungary and Slovenia, will take place from 31 May to 6 June 2021. On the first day, the Netherlands will face France in the quarter-finals at the Bozsik Aréna in Budapest. Kick-off at 18:00.

The Netherlands U21 ended top of their qualifying group, ahead of Romania, Germany and Hungary. If they manage to beat France, Erwin van de Looi's men will play the winner of the other quarter-final between Denmark and Germany. That match will be played at Aréna Sóstó in Székesfehérvár on Wednesday, 3 June. Kick-off at 21.00.

If the Netherlands succeed in reaching the European Under-21 Championship final, their opponents will be Spain, Croatia, Portugal or Italy. The final is scheduled for 6 June at 21.00. The venue: Stadion Stožice in the Slovenian capital Ljubljana.

Preliminary junior Netherlands squad

Brian BrobbeyAjax Amsterdam
Devyne RenschAjax Amsterdam
Kjell ScherpenAjax Amsterdam
Jurgen EkkelenkampAjax Amsterdam
Perr SchuursAjax Amsterdam
Calvin StengsAZ Alkmaar
Dani de WitAZ Alkmaar
Myron BoaduAZ Alkmaar
Noa LangClub Brugge
Tahith ChongClub Brugge
Azor MatusiwaFC Groningen
Maarten PaesFC Utrecht
Thijmen NijhuisFC Utrecht
Ferdi KadiogluFenerbahce
Justin BijlowFeyenoord Rotterdam
Lutsharel GeertruidaFeyenoord Rotterdam
Tyrell MalaciaFeyenoord Rotterdam
Mats KnoesterHeracles Almelo
Deyovaisio ZeefuikHertha BSC
Javairo DilrosunHertha BSC
Sven BotmanLOSC Lille
Mitchel BakkerParis Saint-Germain
Jordan TezePSV Eindhoven
Mohamed IhattarenPSV Eindhoven
Justin KluivertRB Leipzig
Jan HoekstraRoda JC Kerkrade
Sherel Floranussc Heerenveen
Kaj SierhuisStade de Reims
Abdou HarrouiSparta Rotterdam
Danilho DoekhiVitesse Arnhem
Ludovit ReisVfL Osnabrück

The final 23-strong squad will be announced on Friday, 21 May.


Ons Oranje

The latest news in Dutch about the Netherlands national team

Related news

Latest news