Something went wrong.

It is not possible to load the page you were looking for on

The website is currently in maintenance mode. Please try again later.

Do you use an adblocker? Try turning it off and reload the page.

Johan Cruyff Shield

Every football season in the Netherlands traditionally opens in style with the Johan Cruyff Shield, a match between the winners of the KNVB Beker (Dutch Cup) and the Eredivisie champions. The venue for the curtain raiser was the Amsterdam ArenA. Since 2017, the match has been played in the champions' stadium.

In the event that the KNVB Cup winners also clinch the league title, the Eredivisie runners up will take the place of the champions. This happened in 1998 and 2002 when Ajax won ‘the double’, and in 2005 when PSV took both titles. 

Name changes

The series of encounters between the cup winners and the league champions started in 1991 under the name PTT Telecom Cup. Three years later, the competition was renamed Super Cup and in 1996, the format was changed to the current set-up under the name 'Johan Cruijff Schaal' (Johan Cruyff Shield).

PSV Eindhoven have been the most successful side since 1991, lifting the trophy as many as ten times. They’re followed by Ajax (eight titles), Feyenoord and FC Twente (two each) and one-time winners FC Utrecht, AZ Alkmaar and PEC Zwolle.

SVV Schiedam should also be included in the list, because the first Super Cup match was played on 25 June 1949. The league champions SVV beat cup winners Quick Nijmegen away at the Goffertstadion 2–0.

Youth team champions parade through the stadium prior to the Johan Cruyff Shield.


The Johan Cruyff Shield is also held to celebrate youth team champions, who parade through the stadium. The annual event isn’t only for professional champions, all amateur champions are also invited to attend the season opener.

YearWinnersName of the trophy
2018FeyenoordJohan Cruijff Schaal XXIII
2017FeyenoordJohan Cruijff Schaal XXII
2016PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal XXI
2015PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal XX
2014PEC ZwolleJohan Cruijff Schaal XIX
2013AjaxJohan Cruijff Schaal XVIII
2012PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal XVII
2011FC TwenteJohan Cruijff Schaal XVI
2010FC TwenteJohan Cruijff Schaal XV
2009AZJohan Cruijff Schaal IXV
2008PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal XIII
2007AjaxJohan Cruijff Schaal XII
2006AjaxJohan Cruijff Schaal XI
2005AjaxJohan Cruijff Schaal X
2004FC UtrechtJohan Cruijff Schaal IX
2003PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal VIII
2002AjaxJohan Cruijff Schaal VII
2001PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal VI
2000PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal V
1999FeyenoordJohan Cruijff Schaal IV
1998PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal III
1997PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal II
1996PSVJohan Cruijff Schaal I
1993AjaxPTT Telecom Cup
1992PSVPTT Telecom Cup
1991FeyenoordPTT Telecom Cup

Laatste nieuws